West End Redbacks takeover Australia A squad

Travis Head, Jake Lehmann, Joe Mennie, Kane Richardson, Alex Ross, Chadd Sayers and Daniel Worrall were all selected in the side on the back of impressive performances in both the Matador Cup and Sheffield Shield last summer.

Part of a 24-man squad, the seven players will take part in a quad series which will feature a combination of four-day and one-day matches against South Africa A, Cricket Australia’s National Performance Squad and a fourth international side to be confirmed.

National Selector, Rod Marsh said the selection was due reward for those who have performed well in domestic seasons.

“It is important that we continue to build our arsenal of quality fast-bowlers and this squad features some new faces such as Joe Mennie and Dan Worrall, both of whom have impressed at the Shield level,” said Marsh.

“We are lucky enough to have some talented young up and coming batsman performing well. Travis Head, Travis Dean, Cameron Bancroft and Jake Lehmann have all had impressive seasons and thoroughly deserve this opportunity.”

Taking 95 wickets between them in the Sheffield Shield, Mennie and Worrall finished first and second respectively in the Shield wicket-takers tally this year, while Head, Ross and Lehmann all burst onto the scene after breakout summers with the bat.

They’ll face stiff competition for selection though, with the squad also boasting a host of players that have represented Australia at the highest level.

“The squad’s experience is bolstered with the inclusion of Ashton Agar, Marcus Stoinis, Moises Henriques, Scott Boland and Kane Richardson, all of whom have played either Test or one-day cricket for Australia,” added Marsh.

The quad series will be another chance for Richardson to stake his claim for national selection having already impressed for Australia in their two ODI series’ against India and New Zealand earlier in the year before injury cut his summer short.  

Chadd Sayers will also be looking to catch the eye of coaches and selectors as he aims to again push for Test selection after he was named in the Australian Test squad that toured New Zealand at the beginning of the year.   

Full 24-man squad: 

 Ashton Agar  WA 
 Cameron Bancroft   WA 
 Scott Boland  VIC 
 Cameron Boyce  TAS 
 Pat Cummins  NSW 
 Travis Dean  VIC 
 Peter Handscomb  VIC 
 Travis Head  SA 
 Sam Heazlett  QLD 
 Moises Henriques  NSW 
 Jake Lehmann  SA 
 Chris Lynn  QLD 
 Joe Mennie  SA 
 Kurtis Patterson  NSW
 Joel Paris  WA 
 Matt Renshaw  QLD 
 Kane Richardson   SA 
 Alex Ross  SA 
 Chadd Sayers   SA 
 Marcus Stoinis  VIC 
 Mitchell Swepson  QLD
 Chris Tremain  VIC
 Daniel Worrall  SA
 Sam Whiteman  WA

Coach: Troy Cooley

Image Id: ~/media/F40DC2E7495B4C7B892AB676439D07E9

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Partners

Supply Partners

Charity Partner