Schutt and Coyte named in Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars squads

Right-arm fast bowler Schutt, 22, and 24-year-old middle-order batter and medium paced bowler Coyte, have been chosen following strong performances for the Breezair SA Scorpions and Adelaide Strikers this season.

Australia, the world’s top-ranked team will play three T20Is against India, which have been scheduled as double-headers to correspond with the Australian men’s T20Is, also against India. These matches, which bring together the leading players from this year’s ground-breaking Rebel Women’s Big Bash League, will be broadcast live by the Nine Network. Following the T20 matches, the teams will contest three one-day internationals.

The CA Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP) have chosen the following players to contest the series which starts on Australia Day at the Adelaide Oval.

Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars ODI and T20I squads

Meg Lanning (Vic/Stars) Captain

Alex Blackwell (NSW/Thunder) Vice Captain

Kristen Beams (Vic/Stars) ^

Nicole Bolton (WA/Scorchers) ^

Lauren Cheatle (NSW/Thunder) *

Sarah Coyte (SA/Strikers)

Rene Farrell (NSW/Thunder)

Holly Ferling (Qld/Heat)

Grace Harris (Qld/Heat)

Alyssa Healy (NSW/Sixers)

Jess Jonassen (Qld/Heat)

Beth Mooney (Qld/Heat)

Ellyse Perry (NSW/Sixers)

Megan Schutt (SA/Strikers)

Naomi Stalenberg (NSW/Thunder) *

^ ODI squad only

* T20I squad only

Commenting on the chosen squads, WNSP Chairman of Selectors Shawn Flegler said: “It’s been a fantastic summer for women’s cricket in Australia, and it will reach its peak with this home series against India.

“We believe we have selected a strong group for this exciting competition against India. Led by Meg Lanning, the players we have chosen have all had strong performances in the WNCL and Rebel Women’s Big Bash League.

“The T20 squad has been selected with an eye to the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in March and includes two new faces.

“There have been a number of players putting their hand up for selection in the WBBL with matches still remaining – and an upcoming tour to New Zealand in February – for players to keep pushing their case for World Cup selection,” Flegler said.

The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars are reigning WT20 World Cup champions and will be aiming for their fourth consecutive victory in March this year.

Players will start coming into camp in Adelaide from 23 January following their last Rebel Women’s Big Bash League match for the season.

Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars v India Women schedule

Tuesday, 26 January 2016, Adelaide Oval, T20I, 2pm*

Friday, 29 January 2016, MCG, T20I, 2.30pm*

Sunday, 31 January, SCG, T20I, 2.30pm*

Tuesday, 2 February, Manuka Oval, ODI, 2.20pm

Friday, 5 February, Blundstone Arena, ODI, 2.20pm

Sunday, 7 February, Blundstone Arena, ODI, 2.20pm

*Match played as a double-header to the men’s T20I and will be broadcast live on Nine Network

All times local

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Partners

Supply Partners

Charity Partner