Places to Play Funding Program

SACA is offering the opportunity for schools to each receive a grant to install a new cricket pitch (hard wicket) on one of its ovals or open spaces.

Places To Play Funding Program

Fund Overview

The South Australian Cricket Association (SACA) is committed to developing high quality facilities that provide a welcoming environment for all players, officials, volunteers and fans.

As part of SACA’s increase in investment in community cricket infrastructure, SACA is offering the opportunity for schools and Councils to receive a grant to install a new cricket pitch (hard wicket) on one of its ovals or open spaces.

Who can apply?

The grant is open to all schools and Councils in South Australia, acknowledging the important role our school ovals or unused spaces play in providing and maintaining facilities.

How much does a new cricket pitch cost?

The exact cost of a cricket pitch depends on a number of variables. Generally, a typical new cricket pitch costs in the vicinity of $20,000 - $25,000. This includes excavation, concrete, synthetic grass, line marking and rehabilitation of the lawn.

When and how to apply?

Applications are NOW OPEN for our Places to Play program. Applications close on Monday, August 5, 2024. 

Click here to apply!

Frequently Asked Questions

Please see a list of further FAQ's here

Further Information

Please click here if you'd like any more information about the Places to Play program. SACA would like to see as many new cricket pitches as possible delivered from this opportunity and we are very happy to offer advice or guidance as needed. For any questions regarding this program, please contact Simon Bradley on or 8300 3247.

Schools, Universities and Councils that have received the Places to Play grant for a new cricket pitch

2022/23 2023/24

Forbes Primary School

Hampstead Primary School

Ocean View College

Heathfield High School

Seaview Downs Primary School

All Saints Catholic Primary School

Thiele (Aberfoyle) Primary School

Stirling East Primary School

Faith Lutheran College (x2)

Saddleworth Primary School

Bridgewater Primary School

Navigator College

City of Marion (the Cove)

Tatachilla Lutheran College

Eastern Fleurieu School (Strathalbyn)

Craigburn Primary School

Aldgate Primary School

Adelaide University (Roseworthy Campus)

Kidman Park Primary School

Fulham North Primary School

Reynella East College (x2)

Marryatville Primary School

Banksia Park Primary School

Dernancourt Primary School

Paradise Primary School

Murray Park Reserve Oval

West Beach Primary School

Renmark High School

Blackwood High School

East Torrens Primary School

ACSRA Park 21W (SW and NE Oval)

Morphett Vale Primary School (Oval 1 and 2)

Pedare Christian College

St Michael's Lutheran Primary School

Oakbank Area School

Hahndorf Primary School


Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Partners

Supply Partners

Charity Partner