Webb wins back-to-back McCauley Medals

Webb had an incredible second half of the WNCL season and that was obvious in the voting, with her scoring 103 of her 135 votes from round seven onwards.

Stand-in captain Jemma Barsby was runner-up on 115 votes, while opening batter Emma de Broughe finished in third place on 102 votes.

Webb became the first Scorpion in over a decade to win the WNCL Player of the Tournament Award, for her season that yielded 595 runs at an average of 54.

She hit two centuries, including her maiden WNCL ton against New South Wales, before backing it up the following game and finishing 110 not out against her former side Tasmania.

Runner-up Barsby won the newly renamed Tegan McPharlin Award – previously called the Coaches Award – for her efforts demonstrating the Scorpions values and contributing positively to team culture, just like Tegan McPharlin did.

Someone who proudly represented South Australia for more than 15 years, McPharlin led the way both on and off the field in terms of attitude, performance and worth ethic.

In the 2022-23 WNCL season, it was Barsby who best demonstrated those traits as she stood-in as captain and led the team to a grand final.

After a tough grand final loss, Barsby’s speech after the game despite her obvious devastation was one of the most impressive moments of the season and clearly showed why she earned this award.

She also had a number of match-winning performances herself, hitting the winning runs at times whilst taking 20 wickets with her off-spin, the second most in the team.

It was a breakout season for the third placed Emma de Broughe and that earned her the Lauren Ebsary Award as best young player.

de Broughe made 554 runs at an average of 42.6 throughout the season, including hitting her maiden century against the ACT Meteors.

Those numbers had de Broughe fourth on the League’s run-scoring list, while she faced the most balls out of anyone in the WNCL during the season, highlighting her well-rounded defensive game.

A shout-out is also needed for Amanda-Jade Wellington, who was the side’s leading wicket taker with 24 wickets.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Partners

Supply Partners

Charity Partner