Cricket network logo
west end redbacks logo adelaide strikers logo Team Logo

Premier Cricket


Learn more about individual and team awards on offer throughout the Premier Cricket, as well as past winners, here.

History of the Bradman Medal

During season 1957-1958, three members of the South Australian Cricket Umpires Association - umpires John McMenamin, Jack Kierse and Gordon Seymour - were enjoying a quiet drink after a SACUA meeting when the idea of an award for the best ‘A‘ Grade District cricketer was proposed.

The original award, first made at the conclusion of season 1958-1959, was based on one vote per game for the best player during an ‘A’ Grade match. The first presentation dinner was held at the Seven Stars hotel in Angas street, Adelaide, and was attended by approximately 30 umpires. Votes were counted during the dinner, and at the conclusion of the count, joint winners Ian McLachlan and Brian Quigley were announced.

Neither of the winners were in attendance and taxis were sent to their homes to bring them to dinner to receive their award.

During season 1976-1977 it was decided that this award should be renamed 'the Bradman medal'. When approached for his approval, “The Don” agreed and said that he would be honoured to have the award named after him.

The presentation of this prestigious medal has continued and is recognised as the pinnacle individual award for Premier Cricket in South Australia.

“The ‘A’ Grade cricketer who polls the highest number of votes cast by each umpire”

The factors that govern the award comprise:

  • Actual cricket ability displayed
  • Attitude towards the game
  • Demeanour, behaviour and dress