Ten different men’s teams will play in the Super 12 games spread over six days and featuring two double-headers, before Semi-Final 2 is played under lights on 12 November.

The fixture announced today also revealed that women’s teams including world champions Australia, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and South Africa will play at Karen Rolton Oval next February as part of the warm-up series before the women’s tournament.

ICC T20 World Cup announcement

SACA Chief Executive Officer Keith Bradshaw said:

“This is a tremendous result for South Australian cricket and for Adelaide as a host city.

“We are delighted to host so many of the men’s teams, including Australia, in what will be a week-long cricket bonanza at Adelaide Oval, starting with our Adelaide Strikers superstar Rashid Khan representing Afghanistan.

“To also be awarded a prized Semi-Final highlights the reputation of Adelaide Oval as a leading venue for cricket events, backed by magnificent support from the fans.

“Having our world champion Australian women’s team play one of the warm-up games at our new Karen Rolton Oval will create great excitement leading into the women’s event.

“The T20 World Cups are going to create enormous interest across the world next year and I know they are also going to inspire many young girls and boys to play cricket.”

South Africa will play Afghanistan at Adelaide Oval on Sunday 1 November to launch South Australia’s series of men’s games.

A blockbuster double-header on 3 November will start with world number one Pakistan against 2016 Champions West Indies, followed by Australia against a qualifying team under lights.

Additional matches featuring India and England, and a second match featuring South Africa, complete Adelaide Oval’s Super 12 matches.

Ticketing information for the men's T20 World Cup will be confirmed later this year.


Preparation Hub women’s warm-up matches (Karen Rolton Oval)

Sunday 16 February 2020: Sri Lanka v South Africa (am)

Sunday 16 February: England v New Zealand (pm)

Tuesday 18 February: Australia v South Africa (am)

Tuesday 18 February 18: England v Sri Lanka (pm)

Wednesday 19 February: New Zealand v Q2 (am)

ICC men’s T20 World Cup 2020 (Adelaide Oval)

Sunday 1 November 2020: South Africa v Afghanistan (pm)

Tuesday 3 November: Pakistan v West Indies (pm)

Tuesday 3 November: Australia vs B2 (night)

Thursday 5 November: South Africa v A2 (pm)

Thursday 5 November: India v B1 (night)

Saturday 7 November: England v A2 (pm)

Thursday 12 November: Semi-Final 2 (night)

Note: If Australia qualifies for the semi-finals, Australia will play in Semi Final 1. If Australia does not qualify for the semi-finals, Semi-Final 1 will feature Winner Group 1 vs Runner Up Group 2, with Semi-Final 2 to feature Winner Group 2 vs Runner Up Group 1.

About the ICC T20 World Cup 2020

Two ICC T20 World Cups will be played in Australia in 2020, with the men's and women's tournaments to be held as standalone events. The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup will comprise 10 teams playing 23 matches from 21 February – 8 March 2020. Later in the year the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, involving 16 teams playing 45 matches, will be played from 18 October – 15 November 2020.

Eight host cities and 13 venues throughout Australia will host matches.

The women’s and men’s finals will both be played at Australia’s biggest stadium, the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The women’s final is scheduled for Sunday 8 March 2020, International Women’s Day, presenting an opportunity for Australia to set a new world record for the highest ever attendance at a women’s sporting fixture.