The announcement comes on the back of what has been a momentous summer for the trio, highlighted by victory over India in the CommBank Series, an Ashes whitewash for Australia, and capped off with the ICC Women's World Cup victory last week.

Individually the three South Australians have continued to excel, enjoying a host of personal achievements in addition to team success. 

Named Player of the Series in both the Women's Ashes campaign and Australia's series win over India, Tahlia McGrath has had a breakout summer at the international level, while mainstay in the Australian side, Megan Schutt continues to pave the way as one of the country's most consistent performers, ticking off her 150th appearance in the green and gold earlier this summer. 

Earning her first national contract last season, Darcie Brown was announced as the Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year at the Australian Cricket Awards in January, on the back of an impressive Ashes debut for the 19-year-old. 

Cricket Australia’s Head of Performance (Women’s Cricket) and National Selector, Shawn Flegler said:

“It’s been an incredibly successful 12 months for the Australian Women’s Team, and it was fitting that the side capped it off by claiming the ICC Women’s World Cup on Sunday. Our attention now turns to the next 12 months, headlined by the Commonwealth Games and the 2023 ICC Women's T20 World Cup.

“We’ve had a core group of players performing well over the last 12 months which means some talented players have missed out, it’s certainly made selection tough but we’re in a fortunate position to have such depth across Australian Cricket.

“Players such as Stella Campbell, Amanda-Jade Wellington and Grace Harris have all played for Australia and contributed to the team’s success recently, and along with Sophie (Molyneux), have the chance to earn upgrades with consistent performances.

Players not awarded contracts as part of the initial squad of 15 can earn upgrades throughout the year by accruing 12 upgrade points. Female players receive four points for a Test match, two for a One-Day International and two for a T20 International.”

Cricket Australia contracted women’s players
Darcie Brown (SA/Northern Districts CC)
Nicola Carey (TAS/North Hobart CC)
Ashleigh Gardner (NSW/Bankstown CC)
Rachael Haynes (VC) (NSW/Sydney CC)
Alyssa Healy (NSW/Sydney CC)
Jessica Jonassen (QLD/Valleys District CC)
Alana King (WA/Midland Guildford CC)
Meg Lanning (C) (VIC/Box Hill CC)
Tahlia McGrath (SA/Glenelg CC)
Beth Mooney (QLD/Sandgate-Redcliffe CC)
Ellyse Perry (VIC/Dandenong CC)
Megan Schutt (SA/Sturt CC)
Annabel Sutherland (VIC/Prahan CC)
Tayla Vlaeminck (VIC/Plenty Valley CC)
Georgia Wareham (VIC/Essendon Maribyrnong Park Ladies CC)