The Strike League provides an opportunity for cricketers to continue playing during the winter months while also exposes local talent to experienced players from interstate.

The competition features four franchises in the Desert Blaze, City Cyclones, Northern Tide and Southern Storm. Interstate marquee players are spread across competing teams.

Ross was a standout of last year’s series boasting the second-best average of any batsman at 112.5, second only to fellow Redback Jake Weatherald, and a strike rate of 121. The right-hander crushed two half-centuries for Desert Blaze and finished unbeaten in three innings.

The tournament is an entirely amateur event with no match fees awarded to professional players who must also source their own flights and accommodation.

The competition begins on 1 July with the final scheduled for 29 July.

View the 2018 NT Strike League fixture