Redbacks captain Travis Head, wicketkeeper Alex Carey and seamer Kane Richardson feature in both squads, which were unveiled by Cricket Australia on Tuesday.

Left-hander Carey was named vice-captain of the T20I squad supporting skipper Aaron Finch. Australian Test captain Tim Paine will lead the ODI team.

Carey made his ODI and T20I debut for Australia last summer after a record-breaking BBL|07 season with the Adelaide Strikers. The 26-year-old hit the most runs by a Striker (443) and claimed the most dismissals as a wicketkeeper (14) in a single tournament.

His impressive run in red-ball cricket also continued. Carey hit his maiden first-class century for South Australia against Queensland and claimed 23 catches in another reliable summer behind the stumps.

Cricket Australia National Selector Trevor Hohns praised Carey’s recent white-ball form.

“Alex is a very smart one-day player who can also bat anywhere in the order,” he said.

“With Tim (Paine) in the side Alex will be the back-up wicket-keeper, but we believe his game is strong enough to play as a batter only.”

Carey records maiden first-class century

Head continues to shine in all formats and looms as a key cog in Australia’s batting lineup.

The 24-year-old compiled an impressive 96 from just 107 balls in the Australia Day ODI at Adelaide Oval earlier this year and was also selected in Australia’s T20I tri-series squad in its dominant victory over England and New Zealand.

Head hit two JLT Sheffield Shield centuries and four half-centuries for South Australia and starred in his first season as Strikers skipper with three 50s from nine matches.

Travis Head's ton against Tasmania

Richardson played a key role in Australia’s T20I tri-series victory with eight wickets at an average of 19.75.

The 27-year-old claimed 12 wickets for the Melbourne Renegades in BBL|07 and managed 17 scalps from just four matches for the Redbacks in the 2017-18 Shield season.

South Australia’s Adam Zampa was overlooked for selection in both squads.

“Adam hasn’t performed to the level we would have liked in recent times and we see this as a good opportunity for other spinning options to press their case ahead of the Cricket World Cup,” Hohns explained.

Australia play two warm-up matches at Hove (7 June) and Lord’s (9 June) before the opening ODI at The Oval on 13 June.

Link to full fixture

Australian ODI squad
Tim Paine (c) - Tasmania
Aaron Finch (vc) - Victoria

Ashton Agar - Western Australia
Alex Carey - South Australia

Josh Hazlewood - New South Wales
Travis Head - South Australia

Nathan Lyon - New South Wales
Glenn Maxwell - Victoria

Shaun Marsh - Western Australia
Jhye Richardson - Western Australia

Kane Richardson - South Australia
D’Arcy Short - Western Australia

Billy Stanlake - Queensland
Marcus Stoinis - Western Australia

Andrew Tye - Western Australia          

Australian T20I squad
Aaron Finch (c) - Melbourne Renegades
Alex Carey (vc) - Adelaide Strikers

Ashton Agar - Perth Scorchers
Travis Head - Adelaide Strikers

Nic Maddinson - Melbourne Stars
Glenn Maxwell - Melbourne Stars

Jhye Richardson - Perth Scorchers
Kane Richardson - Melbourne Renegades

D’Arcy Short - Hobart Hurricanes
Billy Stanlake - Adelaide Strikers

Marcus Stoinis - Melbourne Stars
Mitchell Swepson - Brisbane Heat

Andrew Tye - Perth Scorchers
Jack Wildermuth - Melbourne Renegades