Australia plays Sri Lanka in five Dettol T20 Internationals in Sydney, Canberra and Melbourne from February 11-20.

For Head, the selection is the latest in a string of honours this summer, including being named the Miller/Compton Medallist as Player of the Series in Australia’s victorious Ashes campaign.

Set to add to his 16 T20I appearances, the thrilling left-hander thundered his name into contention for national duties in the shortest format of the game with a stunning century from just 85 deliveries in the opening Ashes clash at the Gabba in December.

Amassing a total of 152 from 148, Head found the rope 14 times and cleared in on four occasions throughout the knock that set the stage for a dominant 4-0 victory on home soil in sports greatest rivalry. Despite missing the fourth Test, Head finished as the series’ most prolific run-scorer with 357, with the strike-rate of 86 sure to have raised T20 selectors eyebrows.

Head will enter the series with recent T20 experience, having returned to feature in the Adelaide Strikers’ remarkable Finals run that has seen them rise from the bottom of the standings to be just two victories away from a famous title.

Richardson holds his place in the squad after travelling to the United Arab Emirates for Australia’s maiden T20 World Cup title. The right-arm quick has taken the field 26 times in T20I’s, with 29 wickets to his name, including best figures of 3/18.

Richardson enters the series on the back of a strong BBL|11 performance with Melbourne Renegades, ending the tournament as the sixth highest wicket taker. While it was not the season the Renegades had been hoping for, Richardson was at his consistent best across his 11 fixtures to take 19 wickets, the most of any player in red.

Australia and Sri Lanka begin the series at the SCG on 11 February, with the first ball scheduled for 6.40pm ACDT.

Australian squad for the Dettol T20 International Series against Sri Lanka:

Aaron Finch (c)
Ashton Agar
Pat Cummins
Josh Hazlewood
Travis Head
Moises Henriques
Josh Inglis
Ben McDermott
Glenn Maxwell
Jhye Richardson
Kane Richardson
Steve Smith
Mitchell Starc
Marcus Stoinis
Matthew Wade
Adam Zampa