The left-hander proved his fitness at training today after sustaining a thigh injury in last week's season opener against Queensland.

Alex Ross has been ruled out after receiving a blow to the wrist in yesterday’s match, and the hamstring soreness which sidelined Joe Mennie for most of the second innings also keeps him out of the side.

Right-arm quick Wes Agar returns for SA who will seek redemption from their five-wicket loss to Tasmania on Sunday.

Travis Head elected to bat first at Karen Rolton Oval but new ball pair James Faulkner and Jackson Bird terrorised the top order.

The Redbacks fell to 3/8 before Jake Lehmann (50) and Alex Ross (82 not out) steered the Redbacks to 9/228.

Tasmania was steady in their run chase thanks to unbeaten centurion Ben McDermott, despite a late collapse of 3/9.

Entry to Karen Rolton Oval is free on Tuesday. Play begins at 10:00am.

South Australia’s 13-player squad for Round 4
Travis Head (c)
Wes Agar
Alex Carey
Tom Cooper
Callum Ferguson
Jake Lehmann
Harry Nielsen
Luke Robins
Lloyd Pope
Kane Richardson
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Adam Zampa