Smith’s recent form in the West End Premier Cricket and Toyota Futures League competitions has secured him a well-deserved call up for the Redbacks’ trip to Sydney,

After only eight rounds of Premier Cricket, the 24-year-old has already scored a mammoth 619 runs for West Torrens including three hundreds at an average of 154.

His consistent form for South Australia in the Futures League has also been strong, the left-hander scored 129 in their last match against ACT/NSW Country at Karen Rolton Oval.

Smith has replaced captain Travis Head who is in the Australian squad for at least the first two games of the four-match Domain Test series against India beginning at Adelaide Oval on Thursday.

Jake Lehmann will captain the Redbacks who are looking to lock in their first win of the JLT Sheffield Shield season after their loss to Tasmania last week.

The match begins from Friday, 7 December from 10:00am (ACDT), and the final XI will be announced at the toss.

South Australia's 12-player squad
Jake Lehmann (c)
Alex Carey
Tom Cooper
Callum Ferguson
Conor McInerney
Joe Mennie
Kane Richardson
Kelvin Smith
Jake Weatherald
Nick Winter
Daniel Worrall
Adam Zampa

Injury List:
Chadd Sayers (knee - Round 7)