South Australia v New South Wales
Friday, 1-4 November
Adelaide Oval - 10:30am local daily
Live on or the Cricket Australia app

Session times (local)
Session One: 10:30am - 12:30pm
Session Two: 1:10pm – 3:10pm
Session Three: 3:30pm – 5:30pm
Minimum of 96 overs

Head to head (Sheffield Shield matches)
South Australia: 59
New South Wales: 126
Drawn: 44

An intriguing match-up at Adelaide Oval begins on Friday. The Redbacks pushed Queensland at the Gabba in their last Shield outing while New South Wales has made six changes since its victory last round and could introduce up to three debutants. Classy batsman Callum Ferguson adds depth and experience to SA’s batting stocks, while NSW will be without star quartet Steve Smith, David Warner, Mitchell Starc and Sean Abbott - although the visitors regain Test quick Josh Hazlewood. It’s another important audition for all players targeting national selection heading into another huge Australian summer of cricket.

Nielsen aims to extend form

Redback to watch – Harry Nielsen
The 24-year-old gets his opportunity with Australian T20I vice-captain Alex Carey on national duties. Nielsen has worked hard on his batting and it showed with a match-winning 79 for the Prime Minister’s XI against Sri Lanka in Canberra last week, where he also took three catches behind the stumps. The young ‘keeper-batsman continues to improve with every outing.

Danger player – Josh Hazlewood
The right-arm paceman is a world-class player and can turn a match in an over or two. Set for his maiden first-class match since Australia’s Ashes tour of England and his first Sheffield Shield outing in almost a year, Hazelwood will want overs and wickets under his belt ahead of Australia’s opening Test match against Pakistan at the Gabba on 21 November.

West End Redbacks squad
Travis Head (c)
Wes Agar
Tom Andrews
Tom Cooper
Callum Ferguson
Henry Hunt
Jake Lehmann
Harry Nielsen
Luke Robins
Chadd Sayers
Jake Weatherald
Nick Winter

New South Wales squad
Peter Nevill (c)
Nick Bertus
Harry Conway
Trent Copeland
Matthew Gilkes
Liam Hatcher
Josh Hazlewood
Moises Henriques
Daniel Hughes
Nick Larkin
Nathan Lyon
Daniel Solway