South Australia vs Tasmania
Saturday, 23-26 February
Adelaide Oval - 10:30am local daily
Live on or the Cricket Australia app

Session times (all times local)
Session One: 10:30am - 12:30pm
Session Two: 1:10pm – 3:10pm
Session Three: 3:30pm – 5:30pm
Minimum of 96 overs

Head to head (Sheffield Shield matches)
South Australia: 28
Tasmania: 22
Drawn: 28

Both teams require valuable points at the business end of the season. South Australia is without a win at the foot of the series table while 2017-18 finalist Tasmania is fifth, yet both teams can still make a late-season charge under the bonus-point format of Shield cricket. The introduction of the Dukes ball also adds another interesting element to the contest with swing bowlers Chadd Sayers, Nick Winter and Jackson Bird in particular set to put their skills on display. Can the Redbacks resurrect their Shield hopes with a strong result against the Tigers?

Redbacks are back

Redback to watch – Nick Winter
Winter will certainly be one to watch with the swing-friendly Dukes ball now in play. The young left-armer produced an incredible finish to last summer’s campaign using the English-made ball, chalking up 34 wickets in just five matches to be voted runner-up Sheffield Shield Player of the Year in his debut season. The 25-year-old took 11 wickets, including eight in the first innings, armed with the Dukes in South Australia’s Toyota Futures League clash with Queensland last week.

Danger player – Matthew Wade
Australia’s Male Domestic Player of the Year is the leading runscorer of the 2018-19 Shield season with 571 runs at an average of 63. The 31-year-old is arguably in career-best form in both white and red-ball formats following a strong Big Bash campaign with the Hobart Hurricanes, where was the second-highest runscorer of BBL|08 and ranked third in the Player of the Tournament voting.

Travis Head previews clash with Tigers

West End Redbacks squad
Travis Head (c)
Tom Cooper
Callum Ferguson
Jake Lehmann
Conor McInerney
Joe Mennie
Harry Nielsen
Lloyd Pope
Chadd Sayers
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Nick Winter

Tasmania squad
Matthew Wade (C)
Gabe Bell
Jackson Bird
Alex Doolan
Jake Doran
Jarrod Freeman
Ben McDermott
Riley Meredith
Tim Paine
Alex Pyecroft
Tom Rogers
Jordan Silk
Charlie Wakim