The Australian fast bowler will take centre stage in the clash at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai ahead of the IPL’s first qualifier between Sunrisers Hyderabad and the Chennai Super Kings on Tuesday, 22 May.

The match will see some of the sport’s leading international stars go head-to-head with 26 players, including 10 representatives from Australia, England and New Zealand, scheduled to compete.

The move is a potential step towards a future women’s IPL tournament following the success of the rebel Women’s Big Bash and England Super League introduced in 2015 and 2016 respectively.

“We are excited to announce the first-of-its-kind exhibition match involving our women cricketers,” Board of Control for Cricket in India committee member Diana Edulji said.

“BCCI has been pulling out all stops to promote and nurture women’s cricket and this is a small yet significant step towards a prospective league involving women’s stars in the future.”

Schutt will line up for the IPL Supernovas under captain Harmanpreet Kaur alongside Southern Stars teammates Ellyse Perry and Meg Lanning.

Aggressive batter Smriti Mandhana will captain an IPL Trailblazers side featuring Australian pair Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney.

Fox Sports will televise the match into Australia on Fox Sports More from 5.50pm ACST on Tuesday, 22 May.

IPL Trailblazers
Alyssa Healy (wk)

Smriti Mandhana (Captain)
Suzie Bates
Deepti Sharma
Beth Mooney
Jemimah Rodrigues
Danielle Hazell
Shikha Pandey
Lea Tahuhu
Jhulan Goswami
Ekta Bisht
Poonam Yadav
Dayalan Hemalatha
Coach: Tushar Arothe

IPL Supernovas
Danielle Wyatt

Mithali Raj
Meg Lanning
Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain)
Sophie Devine
Ellyse Perry
Veda Krishnamurthy
Mona Meshram
Pooja Vastrakar
Megan Schutt

Rajseshwari Gayakwad
Anuja Patil
Taniya Bhatia (wk)
Coach: Biju George