In the midst of the COVID-19 crisis, SACA was unable to host a dinner for these talented athletes to celebrate 2019-20, however each award winner is just as deserving as those in previous years.

In a rain and smoke haze-interrupted tournament in January, all three South Australian men’s teams qualified for the NCIC grand final, but unfortunately, no SA sides were able to secure silverware.

Jesse Goodman has been named the best and fairest player from the Cricketers with an Intellectual Disability Team for his excellent NCIC campaign, where he collected seven wickets at 8.29 from just three matches.

Goodman took three more wickets than any other player in this year’s tournament.

Luke Smith was named the best player in the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Team and awarded the Adam Wood Trophy for the second year in a row.

Smith was also named Player of the Championship after striking 141 runs from four matches at an average of 43.67.

Stephen Palmer has earned best and fairest honours for the third consecutive season for the Blind and Visually Impaired Team, taking home the Eugene Negruk Trophy.

The B3 Player of the Championship amassed 294 runs from five matches at an average of 58.80.

Three female deaf cricketers played in the Combined Deaf All Stars side in a three-match series against Victoria at the NCIC.

Jess Murray was awarded SA’s best and fairest, earning the accolade in back-to-back seasons.

The SACA Development Academy supports players with a disability to pursue cricket at State level – click to find out more or to donate.

SACA NCIC award winners

Adam Wood Perpetual Trophy
Deaf and Hard of Hearing Best & Fairest Player
Luke Smith

Eugene Negruk Perpetual Trophy
Blind and Vision Impaired Best & Fairest
Stephen Palmer

Cricketers with an Intellectual Disability
Best & Fairest Player
Jesse Goodman

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Women
Best & Fairest Player
Jess Murray