The West End Redbacks leaders are part of a preliminary list for the ODI and T20I tour, which would be a positive step toward a return to international cricket for the Australian men's cricket team.

Acknowledging there are several hurdles still to overcome, Cricket Australia's Executive General Manager of National Teams, Ben Oliver noted the organisation's determination to do whatever is necessary to be ready.

“The ECB are a long-standing and valued international cricket partner and we are doing all we can to give the tour the best possible chance of taking place," Oliver said.

"We continue to work with the ECB and government agencies and a decision on the tour will be made in due course.

“In the meantime, the identification of a preliminary list will enable us to work with players and states more directly on the preparation for the tour in the hope it can proceed. 

“The health and wellbeing of players and staff, along with our commitment to public health within our communities, remain our utmost priority.”

The preliminary 26-player Australian list for a proposed Qantas Tour of England in September is:

Sean Abbott (New South Wales), Ashton Agar (Western Australia), Alex Carey (South Australia), Pat Cummins (New South Wales), Aaron Finch (Victoria), Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales), Travis Head (South Australia), Usman Khawaja (Queensland), Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland), Nathan Lyon (New South Wales), Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia), Glenn Maxwell (Victoria), Ben McDermott (Tasmania), Riley Meredith (Tasmania), Michael Neser (Queensland), Josh Philippe (Western Australia), Daniel Sams (New South Wales), D’Arcy Short (Western Australia), Kane Richardson (South Australia), Steven Smith (New South Wales), Mitchell Starc (New South Wales), Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia), Andrew Tye (Western Australia), Matthew Wade (Tasmania), David Warner (New South Wales), Adam Zampa (New South Wales).