Four teams - Western Grit, Eastern Edge, Southern Force and Northern Mavericks – will play three rounds across the next three weekends but the opening round offers players an opportunity to impress ahead of the Marsh One-Day Cup.

Carey, who has just returned from the UK, will front for the Force in their 50-over game against the Mavericks on Oval 2 (Park 25) while the Edge, featuring members of Kensington’s premiership winning side, play the Western Grit on Karen Rolton Oval.

Hobart Hurricanes BBL paceman Aaron Summers and former Western Australian batsman Will Bosisto will both line up for the Northern Mavericks.

Round One teams

Eastern Edge: Dalton, Hunt, Page, Ross, Doyle, Zampa, Winter, L. Robins, Richardson, Vanderjeugd, T. Robins, Pope.

Northern Mavericks: Nielsen, Bosisto, Cooper, Andrews, Dickman, Umpherston, Turley, Kerr, Wadia, Summers, Cleggett, McDonald.

Southern Force: Barrett, Carey, Dick, Davis, T. Kelly, Hoffmann, Scott, Gautam, Cunningham, Jacobs, Bowering, Judd.

Western Grit: Weatherald, Lehmann, Ferguson, Drew, Valente, Macdonald, B. Pengelley, Kerber, Mennie, Agar, Cormack, Peters.

The full squad lists can be viewed here.