Callum Ferguson has been named captain in place of Travis Head who is in India for Australia’s limited-overs tour, but will be eligible for selection should the Redbacks qualify for either the final or elimination final in Hobart.

Adam Zampa and Kane Richardson will also miss the tournament for the India tour, while returning left-arm swing bowler Nick Winter makes the side. Left-arm spinner Tom Andrews has been selected for his third domestic cup with the Redbacks after making his debut with the National Performance Squad in 2014.

There is an injury cloud over swing-bowler Chadd Sayers after he hurt a finger in a Redbacks League match on the weekend. Left-arm quick and rookie Spencer Johnson will replace Sayers in the squad. 

Batsman Kelvin Smith has been selected in the Redbacks one-day squad for the first time since making his first-class debut in 2013.

Head Coach Jamie Siddons has his sights set on an improved campaign as the group continues to play and develop together.

“There are still some players that are quite raw but (Joe) Mennie, (Daniel) Worrall and these sorts of guys have been around a little bit now,” he said. “We’re looking for that little bit of improvement which should hold us in good stead throughout the tournament.

“Fergie (Callum Ferguson) will be taking the leadership again and it’s something we did last year and he did a great job and we’re looking forward to him doing that again and leading from the front with a lot runs and some really good field placements and captaincy.”

The Redbacks begin their JLT One-Day Cup campaign against the CA XI on Wednesday, 27 September at Allan Border Field in Brisbane.

14-man squad

1. Callum FERGUSON (c)


3. Alex CAREY


5. Michael CORMACK



8. Alex ROSS

9. Chadd SAYERS (Spencer Johnson)

10. Kelvin SMITH

11. Cameron VALENTE


13. Nick WINTER

14. Daniel WORRALL

West End Redbacks JLT One-Day Cup Schedule

Wednesday, 27 September. CA XI v SA. AB Field

Sunday, 1 October. QLD v SA. AB Field

Friday, 6 October. SA v NSW. Hurstville Oval

Tuesday, 10 October. SA v TAS. North Sydney Oval

Thursday, 12 October. VIC v SA. North Sydney Oval

Sunday, 15 October. SA v WA. Drummoyne Oval

Thursday, 19 October. Elimination Final. Blundstone Arena (Day-Night)

Saturday, 21 October. Final. Blundstone Arena (Day-Night)