Batsman Ross and leg-spinner Pope feature in the 12-player squad, with the clash at Bankstown Oval to serve as a lead-up fixture to Pakistan’s three-match Gillette T20 International series against Australia next month.

Queensland’s Chris Lynn has been named captain of the side while Victorian youngster Will Sutherland will serve as vice-captain.

Cricket Australia National Talent and Pathway Manager Graham Manou said it would be exciting to see Australia’s next wave of young talent in action.

“We’re pleased to provide another opportunity for some of Australia’s brightest talent to showcase themselves against the touring Pakistan side,” former Redback Manou said.

“A match against international opposition provides an ideal opportunity for these players to test and hone their skills in the lead up to the KFC Big Bash League.”

The Cricket Australia XI clash with Pakistan will be held on Thursday, 31 October from 2:30pm local time at Bankstown Oval. Entry is free.


Cricket Australia XI squad
Chris Lynn (c)
Will Sutherland (vc)
Baxter Holt (wk)
Mackenzie Harvey
Alex Ross
Nathan McSweeney
Jake Fraser-McGurk
Chris Green
Ben Dwarshuis
Mickey Edwards
Lloyd Pope
Dan Fallins