Mt Gambier’s Josh Fidler will captain the SA men’s side, which has some new faces including State under-19 bowler Josh Pengelley, the brother of Ben who won the player of the series at last year’s carnival and is now a West End Redbacks rookie.


The Outbacks will open the competition against Victoria Country on Friday.


Former SA Scorpions allrounder Cara Fiebig is captain of the Outbacks women, who start against WA Country on Sunday.


Britt Perry and Sharnie Tansell, who were picked in the Australian XI with Fiebig after last year’s carnival, are also in the squad.


The men’s and women’s competitions will be played at Geraldton, about 400km north of Perth.


SA Country teams:


Men: Josh Fidler (captain), Dion Stratford, Alex Hentschke, Matthew McInerney, Nick McInerney (South East), Joe Brown, Jake Birchmore, Chris Graser, Sean Nottle, Ben Parish, David Golder (Mid North), Peter Wilson (Fleurieu), Josh Pengelley, Brodie O’Dea (Upper North).

Women: Cara Fiebig (captain), Stephanie Austin, Febi Mansell, Emma Faint (Mid North), Britt Perry, Nikki Grosser, Sarah Jameson (Barossa and Light), Hannah Armstrong, Jess O’Reilly, Kelly Armstrong (Great Southern), Sharnie Tansell (Hills), Bella Smith (Eyre Peninsula).