Needing three to win from the last ball of the final at Adelaide’s Karen Rolton Oval, UQCC was restricted to a single as Carlton completed an unbeaten run through the national championships.

Player of the Final Aaron Smillie had 18 runs smashed from the first over of the innings but the Carlton quick responded to finish with 4/28, including the key wicket of Dominic Michael (75 off 54) on the last ball of the 19th over.

East Torrens allrounder Michael Cranmer was named Player of the Tournament with a total of 233 runs, including two unbeaten centuries, from three games.

Carlton, which defeated New South Wales club Sutherland in the semi-final, was sent into bat in the final and made a steady start, reaching 0/44 at the end of the powerplay.

Explosive left-hand opener Brayden Stepien found the rope regularly before he was dismissed for 25 by Jack Carty, who also removed dangerous allrounder Evan Gulbis for 28 as Carlton slipped to 4/67 at the halfway point of the innings.

But some big hitting from Lachlan Mckenna (28 off 20 balls) and top scorer Donovan Pell (43 off 27) allowed Carlton to reach 8/154 after 20 overs.

Carty was the best with ball for UQCC, claiming 3/11 off his three overs, and then gave his side a flying start with 18 runs taken from the first over before falling for 24 from 12 balls. With captain Michael playing the anchoring role, UQCC was 2/71 after 10 overs and seemed on track for a win before three late wickets led to the thrilling finish.

With 11 needed off seven deliveries, Michael was caught off the bowling of Smillie and then the experienced Gulbis bowled Carlton to the win.

Full scores from the match can be found here.

South Australian club East Torrens ended its campaign with a win against Dandenong. Cranmer scored an unbeaten 109 off 73 balls and then leg-spinner Ryan King took 3/36 off his four overs to secure a 13-run win.



Award winners were:
Player of the Final – Aaron Smillie, Carlton Cricket Club

Player of the Tournament – Michael Cranmer, East Torrens

Wicketkeepers Award – Mitchell Fry, University of Queensland

Spirit of Cricket Team Award – Carlton Cricket Club