Leg-spinner Lloyd Pope returns to the South Australian squad for the fixture, with batsman Ryan Gibson named for a potential debut in Redbacks colours. Gibson played ten games for the Strikers during BBL|06, once securing Player of the Match thanks to a match-winning 43* against Melbourne Renegades at Adelaide Oval.

Pope replaces fellow spinner Peter Hatzoglou, who made two appearances for the Redbacks following a starring role with the Renegades during BBL|06. Pope is in line to make his third start in the Marsh One-Day Cup, his first of the season, after opening the summer with the Sheffield Shield team during the Adelaide hub.

Travis Head (199) and Peter Handscomb (168) are the top run-scorers for their teams this season, sitting in third and fifth position overall. Handscomb has tallied a remarkable 27% of the total runs produced by Victoria during the tournament; the highest percentage of any player this season.

With the ball, big quick Wes Agar leads the competition when it comes to drawing false shots from the batsmen. 34.8% of Agar’s deliveries are met with a false shot, with Victoria’s Scott Boland in second with 31.7. Will Sutherland is tied for third on this list while also topping the tournament for percentage of plays and misses with 20.2% of his deliveries missing the bat.

South Australia have recorded two centuries during the competition, one each from Head and Harry Nielsen, plus a 99 to wicketkeeper and vice-captain Alex Carey. Victoria is yet to see a player reach triple-figures in 50-over cricket this season, but with an extremely dangerous batting line-up, Jason Gillespie’s Redbacks will be wary of a breakout performance.

History runs with South Australia in this fixture; the Redbacks have have won six of their last seven One-Day Cup matches against Victoria, including the last four on the bounce. They last met in November of 2019 in a high-scoring thriller that saw the Redbacks win by just one run after batting first and posting 4/322. Daniel Worrall and Wes Agar were the heroes with the ball, both taking wickets and going at less than a run-a-ball in the run-fest.

First ball of the West End Redbacks final game of the season is scheduled for 9.15am ACST, with the game broadcast live on cricket.com.au, Foxtel and Kayo Sports.

West End Redbacks Squad

Travis Head (c)
Wes Agar
Alex Carey
Ryan Gibson
Sam Kerber
Corey Kelly
Jake Lehmann
Harry Nielsen
Lloyd Pope
Cameron Valente
Daniel Worrall
Jake Weatherald