Isaac Higgins (Glenelg), Harry Matthias (Sturt), Cooper McKenzie (Prospect) and Joshua Sims (Kensington) have been identified as some of the nation’s next generation of stars to take part in the development opportunity.

It is the fourth installment of the Pathway Rookie program, which began in 2015, with a number of players who were previously involved going on to represent their State in JLT Sheffield Shield or JLT One-Day-Cup.

The squad is made up of 39 boys, down from the previous 53, with the decision made to omit the Australia Under 16 squad, due to the group having their own development program.

Woodville’s Jamieson Murphy and Kensington's Sam Rahaley were the two South Australians selected in the Australia Under 16 squad, which was announced earlier this year. 

Following the Under 17 National Championships, a smaller group of 24 players will be selected from within the squad to participate in a CA Rookie Camp at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in January.