The Blues could never quite get going against the Tigers with a point to prove at home, with opening batsman Jordan Silk making a patient century to lead the Tigers to 4D-392.

The Blues failed with the bat in both innings which left the Tigers with just one run to win at the beginning of their second innings, and Silk secured the 10-wicket victory with a second-ball boundary.

In Cairns, the West End Redbacks played out a run-laden draw against the Queensland Bulls in a match that featured three centuries.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Alex Carey made his maiden first-class century and Travis Head scored his first for the season, as the Redbacks drove to 485 in the first innings.

Queensland’s Joe Burns bit back with his maiden double century as the Bulls declared 96 runs behind on a flat wicket.

SA skipper Head instructed his team to bat into the second session of the final day before declaring, but the Bulls were able to hang onto a draw despite the best efforts of the visitors.

In the final match of the round, Victoria and Western Australia fought out a draw at the MCG which leaves last year’s champions at the foot of the table heading into the BBL break.

WA batted for most of the first day and then the Bushrangers piled on 450 runs between days two and three.

Glenn Maxwell continued his strong Shield form with 96 and Seb Gotch excelled with 98.

With WA 3-281 on the fourth day and with the Bushrangers yet to bat again, the two captains decided that no result would be reached and settled for the draw.

South Australia next play the Victorian Bushrangers at Adelaide Oval from Thursday, 8 February in what is set to be a blockbuster.



JLT Sheffield Shield – Season Leaders


Glen Maxwell (VIC) – 590

Callum Ferguson (SA) – 541

Joe Burns (QLD) – 514

Highest scores

Glenn Maxwell (VIC) – 278

Alex Doolan (TAS) – 247*

Cameron Bancroft (WA) – 228*

Batting average

Cameron Bancroft (WA) – 110.50

Usman Khawaja (QLD) – 86.75

Cameron White (VIC) – 83.50


Jackson Bird (TAS) – 25

Chris Tremain (VIC) – 22

Scott Boland (VIC) – 21

Bowling economy (minimum 10 overs)

Jon Holland (VIC) – 1.72

Cameron Valente (SA) – 2.07

James Faulkner (TAS) – 2.09

Bowling average

Nathan Coulter-Nile (WA) – 10.25

James Faulkner (TAS) – 11.00

Josh Hazlewood (NSW) – 12.16

Wicket-keeping dismissals

Peter Nevill (NSW) – 19

Matthew Wade (TAS) – 18

Jimmy Peirson (QLD) – 15

Most catches

Steve Smith (NSW) - 7