Sayers has been selected for his first game since the draw with Victoria at the MCG in November after undergoing surgery on his knee.

Swingman Daniel Worrall has been ruled out of this round of Sheffield Shield action despite making a return to bowling with Big Bash outfit Melbourne Stars this month.

General Manager, High Performance Tim Nielsen said that a conservative approach will be taken with Worrall as he works on a full return from a lower back injury.

“Daniel is continuing his rehab and progressing really well but we’re taking a conservative approach since he hurt himself in Sydney in December,” Nielsen said.

“In consultation with the medical staff, we deemed it sensible that he misses this round, but we’re hoping for him to be ready to play our next game in Perth.”

Test vice-captain Travis Head returns to lead his Redbacks fresh off his maiden century, while young wicketkeeper-batsman Harry Nielsen will take the gloves in place of Alex Carey who is in the Qantas Tour of India starting February 24. 

Kane Richardson and Adam Zampa also flew to India with the squad, while Cameron Valente and Lloyd Pope have earned recalls.

South Australia will play Tasmania from 10:30am daily starting Saturday, and the final XI will be announced at the toss.

South Australia's 12-player squad
Travis Head (c)
Tom Cooper
Callum Ferguson
Jake Lehmann
Conor McInerney
Joe Mennie
Harry Nielsen
Lloyd Pope
Chadd Sayers
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Nick Winter