South Australia v New South Wales
Tuesday, 16-19 October
Adelaide Oval - 10:30am local daily
Live on or the Cricket Australia app

Session times
Session One: 10:30am - 12:30pm
Session Two: 1:10pm – 3:10pm
Session Three: 3:30pm – 5:30pm
Minimum of 96 overs

Head to head (Sheffield Shield matches)
South Australia: 59
New South Wales: 126
Drawn: 42

For the second consecutive summer, South Australia hosts the Blues at home to begin the Redbacks’ red-ball season. But much has changed for both sides in 12 months. Steve Smith, David Warner, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Nathan Lyon will all miss for New South Wales after featuring in last year’s coinciding pink-ball fixture, while Travis Head, Alex Carey, Adam Zampa and Daniel Worrall are all unavailable for the home side. The threat of weather adds another intriguing element to the contest with both teams obviously eager to kick off their four-day campaigns with a victory. Young leg-spinner Lloyd Pope could make his first-class debut for South Australia, while the Blues could introduce three debutants.

West End Redbacks stand-in skipper Jake Lehmann previews SA's clash with NSW

Redback to watch – Chadd Sayers
The 2016-17 Sheffield Shield Player of the Year will feel at home with the red Kookaburra back in his hands. It’ll be Sayers’ first Shield outing since making his Test debut for Australia and the 31-year-old will want to begin with a bang to put his name back in front of national selectors. Intermittent conditions will suit swing bowling and there’s little doubt Sayers will be testing opposition batsmen from his opening delivery.

Danger player – Trent Copeland
Copeland flies under the radar in comparison to many of his high-profile Blues teammates, but the experienced quick was on song against SA at Adelaide Oval 12 months ago with first-innings figures of 6/24. A veteran of 80 first-class matches boasting almost 300 first-class scalps, Copeland was New South Wales’ leading Shield wicket-taker last summer with 34 wickets.

West End Redbacks squad
Jake Lehmann (c)
Tom Cooper
Callum Ferguson
Conor McInerney
Joe Mennie
Harry Nielsen
Lloyd Pope
Kane Richardson
Chadd Sayers
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Nick Winter

New South Wales squad
Peter Nevill (c)
Sean Abbott
Trent Copeland
Jack Edwards
Mickey Edwards
Moises Henriques
Daniel Hughes
Nick Larkin
Stephen O’Keefe
Kurtis Patterson
Daniel Sams
Jason Sangha