South Australia v Queensland
Monday, 11-14 March
The Gabba - 10:00am local daily (10:30am ACDT)
Live on or the Cricket Australia app

Session times (local)
Session One: 10:00am - 12:00pm
Session Two: 12:40pm – 2:40pm
Session Three: 3:00pm – 5:00pm
Minimum of 96 overs

Head to head (Sheffield Shield matches)
South Australia: 56
Queensland: 63
Tied: 1
Drawn: 52

South Australia will take a new-look squad north to tackle the Bulls and salvage something from a disappointing summer. Batsmen Brad Davis and Kelvin Smith have earned opportunities while Elliot Opie helps fill the void left by injured duo Daniel Worrall and Chadd Sayers. It’s also a chance for other youngsters in the squad, such as Conor McInerney, Harry Nielsen and Luke Robins, to stake their claims for a long-term spot in the XI. While unlikely, Queensland is still a chance of defending its Shield title but must down SA with a healthy bonus-point haul to lift itself up from fifth on the table.

Nielsen discusses squad changes

Redback to watch – Travis Head
The captain crafted a hard-fought second-innings half-century on a challenging Perth pitch last round to back up consecutive 50s against Tasmania. Head, 25, has worked immensely hard on his red-ball game over the past 12 months and is beginning to reap the rewards entering the prime of his career. A big Shield score could be just around the corner. 

Danger player – Joe Burns
The third-highest Shield runscorer of the summer, Burns has been a thorn in the Redbacks’ side throughout his career. He averages just over 60 in first-class matches against South Australia with five centuries, five half-centuries and four not-out digs from 26 innings. His highest first-class score of 202* came in the corresponding fixture last summer in Queensland’s home clash against the Redbacks in Cairns. Burns will be a prized wicket for SA in this match.

West End Redbacks squad
Travis Head (c)
Tom Andrews
Brad Davis
Jake Lehmann
Conor McInerney
Joe Mennie
Harry Nielsen
Elliot Opie
Luke Robins
Kelvin Smith
Jake Weatherald
Nick Winter

Queensland squad
James Peirson (c)
Joe Burns
Luke Feldman
Cameron Gannon
Sam Heazlett
Charlie Hemphrey
Marnus Labuschagne
Nathan McSweeney
Michael Neser
Matthew Renshaw
Mark Steketee
Mitch Swepson