New South Wales v South Australia
Friday, 7-10 December
SCG - 10:30am local daily (10am ACDT)
Live on or the Cricket Australia app

Session times (all times local)
Session One: 10:30am - 12:30pm
Session Two: 1:10pm – 3:10pm
Session Three: 3:30pm – 5:30pm
Minimum of 96 overs

Head to head (Sheffield Shield matches)
South Australia: 59
New South Wales: 126
Drawn: 43

It’s a must-win match for South Australia. Despite playing some impressive cricket in patches, the Redbacks remain without a victory from five outings this season and are now more than 10 points adrift of the second-placed Blues. But the SCG holds no fears for South Australia. A young Redbacks side claimed an impressive seven-wicket win in the last clash at the venue between the two teams early this year. A spirited performance from a similar squad on the road could be just the springboard South Australia needs heading into the new year.

Redback to watch – Callum Ferguson
After an outstanding JLT One-Day Cup campaign, Ferguson would be the first to admit he’s had a quiet start to the Shield season by his own lofty standards. But the 34-year-old’s class shone through in Tasmania as he compiled a clutch second-innings century which nearly saved the match for South Australia. Holding down the important post at first-drop, a return to form for Ferguson could be just what South Australia needs to bring down the Blues.

Danger player – Kurtis Patterson
Left-handed batsman Patterson secured his own slice of cricket history by notching the maiden first-class century at the new Optus Stadium last round to help the Blues topple Western Australia. The 25-year-old has another three half-centuries to his name this season and is New South Wales’ second-leading runscorer overall. He’s a key wicket for the Redbacks this round.

West End Redbacks squad
Jake Lehmann (c)
Alex Carey
Tom Cooper
Callum Ferguson
Conor McInerney
Joe Mennie
Kane Richardson
Kelvin Smith
Jake Weatherald
Nick Winter
Daniel Worrall
Adam Zampa

New South Wales
Peter Nevill (c)
Sean Abbott
Harry Conway         
Jack Edwards
Daniel Fallins
Moises Henriques
Daniel Hughes
Nick Larkin
Stephen O’Keefe
Kurtis Patterson
Jason Sangha
Greg West