The squad will assemble on 19 January and the first Test starts in Brisbane on 24 January.

Head, 25, made his Test debut last October and has played in Australia’s past six Test matches, scoring 359 runs in 11 innings at 32.63, with three 50s.

He will play his first BBL game of the season for the Adelaide Strikers on Friday night at Adelaide Oval.

No South Australians were named in the Cricket Australia XI to take on Sri Lanka in Hobart, in a day-night, pink ball match from 17-19 January but Strikers allrounder Michael Neser is in the 11.

Australia Men’s Test squad
Tim Paine (c) – Tasmania
Josh Hazlewood (vc) – New South Wales
Joe Burns – Queensland
Pat Cummins – New South Wales
Marcus Harris – Victoria
Travis Head – South Australia
Usman Khawaja – Queensland
Marnus Labuschagne – Queensland
Nathan Lyon – New South Wales
Will Pucovski – Victoria
Matt Renshaw - Queensland
Mitchell Starc – New South Wales
Peter Siddle - Victoria
Cricket Australia XI
Joe Burns (c) - Queensland
Kurtis Patterson (vc) – New South Wales
Scott Boland – Victoria
Jake Doran (wk) - Tasmania
Jon Holland – Victoria
Marnus Labuschagne - Queensland
Michael Neser - Queensland
Will Pucovski - Victoria
Jason Sangha – New South Wales
Matt Renshaw - Queensland
Chris Tremain - Victoria

CA XI Tour Match
CA XI v Sri Lanka
17 – 19 January
Blundstone Arena, Hobart

Domain Test Series v Sri Lanka
First Test - Day-Night
The Gabba, Brisbane
24-28 January 2019

Second Test
Manuka Oval, Canberra
1-5 February 2019