Head, 25, retained his place in the Australian Test squad after scoring his maiden Test century against Sri Lanka at Manuka Oval in February.

The 2015-16 Sheffield Shield Player of the Year continued his strong recent run of form with an unbeaten 139 in a first-class outing in Canterbury and an impressive score of 138 for Australia A in a List A clash earlier this month.

Head will serve as vice-captain for the tour alongside fast bowler Patrick Cummins.

Redbacks teammate Alex Carey, who earned a place in the ICC’s World Cup Team of the Tournament, was overlooked for selection in the Ashes squad. National selectors instead chose in-form Tasmanian Matthew Wade to act as the squad’s reserve wicketkeeper-batter behind captain Tim Paine.

Chairman of Selectors Trevor Hohns said trimming the squad to just 17 players proved a difficult assignment.  

"It has been a difficult task to reduce the 25-player squad here in Southampton down to 17 and those who have not made the final Ashes party are all desperately unlucky," said Hohns.

"However, that problem also highlights that we have a degree of depth to select from and that is a terrific positive.

"We have had excellent preparations for this series, with eight players from this squad forming part of the Australia A tour that has been in the UK for more than a month, six who took part in the ICC Cricket World Cup, and three who have been playing county cricket. It means the players are acclimatised and ready for the first Test."

Australia is aiming to retain the Ashes and win a series in England for the first time since 2001.

The squad will travel to Birmingham this weekend to begin preparations for the opening Test, which begins on Thursday.

Tim Paine (c) (Tasmania)
Cameron Bancroft (Western Australia)
Patrick Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)
Marcus Harris (Victoria)
Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)
Travis Head (vc) (South Australia)
Usman Khawaja (Queensland)
Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland)
Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia)
Michael Neser (Queensland)
James Pattinson (Victoria)
Peter Siddle (Victoria)
Steven Smith (New South Wales)
Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)
Matthew Wade (Tasmania)
David Warner (New South Wales)

First Test: August 1-5, Edgbaston
Second Test:
August 14-18, Lord's
Third Test:
August 22-26, Headingley
Fourth Test:
September 4-8, Old Trafford
Fifth Test:
September 12-16, The Oval