Head was rested for the opening rounds against Queensland and New South Wales after an extensive winter which included an Australia A tour and an Ashes series in England, but is again available for the games at Karen Rolton Oval on Sunday and Tuesday.

Opening batsman Jake Weatherald is still sidelined with a thigh injury which ruled him out of Thursday’s match against NSW, while Wes Agar has been omitted.

South Australia picked up a bonus point in the five-wicket win against the Blues, and return to Adelaide with five points from their two games at Allan Border Field.

Kane Richardson (3/25) and Joe Mennie (3/39) got the Redbacks off to a flying start against the Blues, while Tom Cooper finished the job with 52 not out to go with his 62 in the first match.

Leg-spinner Lloyd Pope took a wicket on his List A debut, while Alex Carey (36) and Jake Lehmann (37) each made solid contributions.

Entry to Karen Rolton Oval is free on Sunday and Tuesday. Play begins at 10:00am.

South Australia’s 13-player squad for Round 3
Travis Head (c)
Alex Carey
Tom Cooper
Callum Ferguson
Jake Lehmann
Joe Mennie
Harry Nielsen
Lloyd Pope
Kane Richardson
Luke Robins
Alex Ross
Cameron Valente
Adam Zampa