Head will continue as joint vice-captain of the squad alongside Patrick Cummins with the omission of Western Australian batsman Cameron Bancroft the only change to the squad which thumped Pakistan.

Left-hand batsman Head, who turns 26 this month, did not bat in the Adelaide Oval day-night Test concluding on Monday such was Australia’s dominance.

He boasts a Test average of 42 from 14 matches with six half-centuries and one Test ton to his name.

Australia National selector Trevor Hohns said continuity was important for the squad after the successful series against Pakistan.

“As we said prior to the Pakistan series we are striving to maintain a core group of players. The performance of the team against Pakistan was very impressive across all areas, while there is always some room to improve,” he said.

“We are backing the current batting line-up to continue their form across the next three Tests.”

The three-Test series against New Zealand begins with a day-night Test in Perth beginning next Thursday, 12 December.

Tim Paine (c) (Tasmania)
Joe Burns (Queensland)
Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)
Josh Hazelwood (New South Wales)
Travis Head (vc) (South Australia)
Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland)
Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
Michael Neser (Queensland)
James Pattinson (Victoria)
Steven Smith (New South Wales)
Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)
Matthew Wade (Tasmania)
David Warner (New South Wales)

First Domain Test: December 12-16 at Perth Stadium (d/n)
Second Domain Test: December 26-30 at Melbourne Cricket Ground
Third Domain Test: January 3-7 at Sydney Cricket Ground