Sayers, who was 12th man for Australia in the first Test of the summer, will be joined by John Dalton, Harry Nielsen, Ben Pengelley and David Grant in the side for the game at Drummoyne Oval.


Queensland’s Matthew Renshaw, who has played 10 Tests for Australia, will captain the side.

The tour game will lead into the five-match Gillette ODI Series between Australia and England, starting on 14 January in Melbourne.

Cricket Australia XI squad: Matt Renshaw (Queensland, Gabe Bell, Jake Doran (Tasmania), Travis Dean, Mackenzie Harvey (Victoria), Jake Carder (WA), Daniel Fallins (NSW), Sayers, Dalton, Grant, Nielsen, Pengelley (SA).