The 34-year-old is joined by in-form wicketkeeper-batsman Harry Nielsen as the two inclusions for South Australia’s first home Shield fixture of the summer.

Ferguson struck a team-best 91 in the Redbacks’ thrilling Marsh One-Day Cup victory over Queensland at the Gabba last week, while Nielsen was Player of the Match for the Prime Minister’s XI last Thursday with an impressive 79-run performance against Sri Lanka.

The pair replace Australian T20I joint vice-captain Alex Carey and young allrounder Cameron Valente in the Redbacks’ 12-player squad.

Australian T20I squad members Kane Richardson and Adam Zampa were unavailable for Sheffield Shield selection.

Two-time Neil Dansie Medallist Joe Mennie is continuing his recovery from a hamstring injury and is expected to return to first team action through the Marsh One-Day Cup fixtures mid-November.

Play begins from 10:30am local time on Friday at Adelaide Oval with free entry to the public.

The Redbacks’ final XI will be named at the toss.

South Australia’s 12-player squad
Travis Head (c) 
Wes Agar 
Tom Andrews
Tom Cooper 
Callum Ferguson 
Henry Hunt
Jake Lehmann
Harry Nielsen
Luke Robins
Chadd Sayers
Jake Weatherald
Nick Winter

In: Callum Ferguson, Harry Nielsen 
Out: Alex Carey (Australian T20I squad), Valente (omitted)