Ferguson was left out of last week’s draw with Queensland at Adelaide Oval due to a calf strain, but is on track to play in Melbourne this weekend.

Jake Lehmann will captain the side in the absence of Travis Head, who is on international duty for the Gillette ODI series against South Africa.

Fellow batsman Tom Cooper retains his place in the squad after he was a late addition to last week’s team. The 31-year-old was named Player of the Match after a stellar 178-run innings against the Bulls.

The Redbacks will look to kick-start their season after two consecutive draws at Adelaide Oval.

Victoria is currently on top of the Sheffield Shield table with two victories, both by an innings, through the first two rounds.

The final XI will be announced at the toss.

South Australia’s 12-player squad
Jake Lehmann (c)
Tom Cooper
Callum Ferguson
Conor McInerney
Joe Mennie
Harry Nielsen
Lloyd Pope
Kane Richardson
Chadd Sayers
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Nick Winter

Injury list:
Daniel Worrall (lower back – 2 weeks)
Spencer Johnson (lower back – 2 weeks)