Carey and Richardson are part of a 21-player squad that will play three T20Is and three ODIs in Southampton and Manchester from Friday, 4 September.

The team will first play four practice matches – three T20s and one 50-over game – in what will be the first international tour undertaken by an Australian national sporting team since the COVID-19 pandemic began.

Cricket Australia (CA) and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have agreed to detailed biosecurity and travel plans to ensure the safety of the tour.

Nick Hockley, CA’s Interim Chief Executive, said:

“We are very excited to be heading to England and to get back into the international fray. We congratulate the ECB on leading the resumption of the game in a way that places the health and safety of players and staff at its core.

“We would also like to thank the Australian Government, as well as all those who have worked tirelessly to put together a plan that allows for the tour to progress in a bio-secure way.”

Aaron Finch will captain the side with Pat Cummins as vice-captain. The NSP has reviewed and refined the leadership of the squad, reverting to the traditional setup of captain and vice-captain.

“After taking advice and reviewing the leadership of the squad we have decided to revert back to the traditional captain and one vice-captain setup,” Hohns said.

“Alex remains a genuine leader within the squad and will continue to provide valuable support to Aaron as skipper. Pat is very much in the same category and someone the entire squad has immense respect for as a person and a player.

The National Selection Panel (NSP) has chosen the following Australian T20 and ODI squad for the Qantas Tour of England:

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria), Sean Abbott (New South Wales), Ashton Agar (Western Australia), Alex Carey (South Australia), Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales), Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales), Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland), Nathan Lyon (New South Wales), Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia), Glenn Maxwell (Victoria), Riley Meredith (Tasmania), Josh Philippe (Western Australia), Daniel Sams (New South Wales), Kane Richardson (South Australia), Steven Smith (New South Wales), Mitchell Starc (New South Wales), Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia), Andrew Tye (Western Australia), Matthew Wade (Tasmania), David Warner (New South Wales), Adam Zampa (New South Wales)

Australian Men’s Qantas Tour of England matches:

Friday, 4 September: 1st T20 International, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton
Sunday, 6 September: 2nd T20 International, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton
Tuesday, 8 September: 3rd T20 International, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton
Friday, 11 September: 1st ODI, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester
Sunday, 13 September: 2nd ODI, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester
Wednesday, 16 September: 3rd ODI, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester