West Torrens’ Kelvin Smith – who tied for last year’s medal – and two-time medallist Jake Brown, from Kensington, have again been stars in the West End First grade men’s competition in 2018-19.

Leading wicket-taker Tim Oakley (Tea Tree Gully) and allrounders Tom Andrew (Woodville) and Sam Kerber (Adelaide University) should also poll strongly but highest run scorer Jake Winter (Glenelg) is ineligible after accepting a one-match penalty (suspended) from the Twenty20 semi-final.

Below is a summary of some of the leading contenders from each of the Premier Clubs for the 2018-19 season:

Woodville: Redbacks allrounder Tom Andrews continued his good form from last season, taking a total 17 wickets and finishing with 593 runs including three centuries. He topped both Woodville’s runs and wickets for the season.

Adelaide University: Talented allrounder Samuel Kerber is one of the favourites after scoring 617 runs and taking 22 wickets at 25.41. Opening batter Ben Wakim should also poll well, finishing with 607 runs including two centuries in rounds four and five.

West Torrens: Last year’s joint winner Kelvin Smith had another stand-out season blasting 904 runs at an average of 129.14, with five centuries certain to attract votes.

Kensington: Expect two-time Bradman Medallist Jake Brown to dominate the early rounds. He scored 83 or more five times from his first six innings, including three centuries. He finished the minor round with 721 runs at 65.55 and took 15 wickets at 21.33.

Sturt: South Australia’s newest Redback Brad Davis scored 614 runs, including three centuries, with a highest score of 158 not out.

Glenelg: Jake Winter is ineligible for this season’s Bradman Medal but will receive his share of votes, having piled on 1048 runs at an average of 104.80 with a highest score of 233 not out.

Adelaide: Young allrounder Ben Pengelley led the batting and bowling for Adelaide, scoring 544 runs (including six 50s) as well as taking 23 wickets at 21.65. 2011-12 Bradman Medallist Sam Raphael also made 520 runs.

Port Adelaide: Aaron Sayers finished strongly to collect 632 runs at 52.67, finishing fourth overall on the runs list. Nicholas Benton finished third last season and had another consistent campaign, finishing second on the competition’s bowling tally with 25 wickets, plus scoring 364 runs.

East Torrens: Player of the Tournament in the recent National Premier T20 competition, Michael Cranmer made 455 runs and claimed 12 wickets for East Torrens in First Grade games this season.

Tea Tree Gully: Experienced Matthew Weaver scored the side’s most runs (505) at an average of 42.08, while young fast bowler Tim Oakley finished with the most wickets in the Premier season (32) at 15.91. Alongside these two standouts is allrounder Ben Hutchinson, who scored a total of 354 runs as well as taking 21 wickets for the season.

Southern District: Wicketkeeper Josh Barrett’s consistent years continued with a total of 487 runs, featuring 172 in round 11.

Northern Districts: Mark Cosgrove led the batting for another year, with 495 runs at 38.08. English import Tim Rouse will poll votes early.

Prospect: Recruit Ben Turley, who finished in the top ten in last year’s count, scored 526 runs and claimed 18 wickets at 33.94.

Top First Grade runs:

Jake Winter: 1048 runs (Glenelg)

Kelvin Smith: 904 runs (West Torrens)

Jake Brown: 721 runs (Kensington)

Aaron Sayers: 632 runs (Port Adelaide)

Samuel Kerber: 617 runs (Adelaide University)

Brad Davis: 614 runs (Sturt)

Ben Wakim: 607 runs (Adelaide University)

Tom Andrews: 593 runs (Woodville)

Ben Pengelley: 544 runs (Adelaide)

Ben Turley: 526 runs (Prospect)

Leading First Grade wickets:

Tim Oakley: 32 wickets (Tea Tree Gully)

Nicholas Benton: 25 wickets (Port Adelaide)

Bailey Wightman: 23 wickets (Adelaide University)

Ben Pengelley: 23 wickets (Adelaide)

Cameron Fatchen: 22 wickets (Kensington)

Samuel Kerber: 22 wickets (Adelaide University)

Ben Ellis: 22 wickets (Adelaide University)

Ben Hutchinson: 21 wickets (Tea Tree Gully)

Charlie Parker: 21 wickets (Sturt)

Harry Cunningham: 21 wickets (Glenelg)