SA’s keeper-batsman will be joined by young all-rounder Ben Pengelley and off-spinner Michael Cormack, who featured in SA’s Futures League side last season.

The 18-man squad, which is aimed at fast-tracking the next generation of Australian international players, will spend more than three months training at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane under the tutelage of National Performance Program Head Coach Troy Cooley.

Carey's top five dismissals of 2016/17

Carey’s selection in the National Performance Squad comes on the back of a standout summer with both the bat and gloves for South Australia.

The 25-year old broke the all-time record for dismissals in a single season after playing a hand in 59 wickets, as well as becoming just the fourth keeper-batsman in history to record the rare 50-dismissals and 500-runs in a season. 

Cormack, 19, has already played two List A matches for South Australia after earning selection in the Redbacks’ Matador BBQ’s One Day Cup campaign last season. 

The off-spinner also took 20 wickets at 30.65 for Adelaide Cricket Club in the West End Premier Cricket competition last season.

Meanwhile, Adelaide teammate Pengelley averaged an impressive 42.89 with the bat in Premier Cricket last season, before making his Futures League debut in the last round of the season against New South Wales.

The all-rounder was also selected in the Team of the Tournament at the U19 National Championships last December, as well as being named Player of the Tournament in the Australian Country Championships. 

SACA General Manager High Performance, Tim Nielsen, said the selections were a great achievement for all three players.  

“The selection of Alex, Ben and Michael in the National Performance Squad is certainly a great opportunity for these guys,” he said.  

“Alex has had a great season for us in both the Matador Cup and Sheffield Shield, and it’s great to see him being rewarded for taking his opportunity in his first full season at first-class level.

“Both Ben and Michael have shown great potential in their time in our system so far, and we look forward to both players continuing their development with an eye to becoming long-term players for us at domestic level.”

Past graduates of the NPS program include players such as Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist, Glenn McGrath, Steve Smith and David Warner.

More recently, the likes of Matthew Renshaw, Peter Handscomb and Hilton Cartwright have gone on to make their debuts for Australia after being exposed to international playing and training environments through the program.


2017 National Performance Squad


Alex Carey, SA

Jackson Coleman, VIC

Michael Cormack, SA

Brendan Doggett, QLD

Jake Doran, TAS

Daniel Fallins, NSW

Jordan Gauci, NSW

Ryan Gibson, NSW

Ryan Hadley, NSW

Josh Inglis, WA

Marcus Labuschagne, QLD

Lewin Maladay, NSW

Ben McDermott, TAS

Tom O’Donnell, VIC

Ben Pengelley, SA

Henry Thornton, NSW

Param Uppal, NSW

Mac Wright, TAS