It is the first time the right-arm quick has been selected for a touring party after he was last week called into Australia’s preliminary squad, and he has already commenced training in in Brisbane.

Agar, 24, has been dominant for the Adelaide Strikers and a key contributor for the Redbacks following a breakout 2019-20 season which saw him claim Cricket Australia’s Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year award.

His South Australian team-mate Alex Carey has also been selected and will be well in line to add to his 42 ODI and 30 T20I appearances to date.

National Selector Trevor Hohns said those brought into the squad deserved their opportunities.

“We are fortunate to have excellent depth in Australian cricket and we’re extremely excited by the inclusions of Wes Agar, Ben McDermott, Dan Christian and Ashton Turner to the squad.

“We are equally pleased to have Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Starc and Mitchell Swepson back in the white ball squad having missed the recent tour of New Zealand through their selection in the Test squad for South Africa.

“Wes has been dominant in the Big Bash and we really like what he brings to the table on his debut Australian tour while McDermott is a proven performer in white ball cricket as an explosive middle order batsman.

The squad is due to depart for the West Indies on June 28 for five T20 Internationals at Darren Sammy Stadium in St Lucia followed by three One-Day Internationals at Kensington Stadium in Barbados. If confirmed, the team will then play five T20 Internationals against Bangladesh in Bangladesh.

Australian squad for tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh:
Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)
Ashton Agar (Western Australia)
Wes Agar (South Australia)
Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia)
Alex Carey (South Australia)
Dan Christian (New South Wales)
Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)
Moises Henriques (New South Wales)
Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia)
Riley Meredith (Tasmania)
Ben McDermott (Tasmania)
Josh Philippe (Western Australia)
Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)
Mitchell Swepson (Queensland)
Ashton Turner (Western Australia)
Andrew Tye (Western Australia)
Matthew Wade (Tasmania)
Adam Zampa (New South Wales)