The carnival-style, national competition will take place over two days, featuring 10 teams from across the country, representing all states and territories.

As a pivotal part of the Australia Cricket Pathway, Premier Cricket will be celebrated in T20 format giving players an additional opportunity to showcase and enhance their skills.

A men’s competition will take place in year one, with plans for a women’s competition to follow in year two.

New South Wales and Victoria will be represented by two teams, while Premier Cricket competition winners from South Australia, Western Australia, Queensland, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory will also feature.

Northern Territory does not currently have a Premier Cricket competition but will be represented, by the winner of the NT Strike League which began over the weekend.

The tournament highlights a national collaboration around Premier Cricket between Cricket Australia and State and Territory Associations – and an increased focus on T20 cricket at Premier level - with State Premier T20 competitions set to run simultaneously over the December-January period.

A T20 competition has also been announced as part of a revamped Toyota Futures League structure for 2018-19, from 28 to 31 January.

The Premier Cricket T20 intrastate competition will take place on 5 and 6 March, 2019.