Nielsen on Redbacks 17-18 squad

Opening batsman John Dalton, left-arm swing bowler Nick Winter and wicketkeeper Harry Nielsen have been awarded full State contracts.

Right-arm quick David Grant, allrounder Cameron Valente and experienced batsman Tom Cooper – who all earned upgrades during last season by playing enough List A and first-class games – have also been retained on the main list.

Kensington youngster John Dalton has been awarded a full state contract // Getty

New rookies include 2016-17 Bradman Medallist Daniel Drew and his West Torrens premiership team-mate, left-arm speedster Spencer Johnson.

Australian Country allrounder Ben Pengelley, off-spinner Michael Cormack, opening batsman Jake Winter and 17-year-old leg-spinner Lloyd Pope complete the rookie list.

All six were members of the Emerging Redbacks squad last season.

General Manager, High Performance Tim Nielsen said the promotion of SA captain Travis Head and Adam Zampa to Cricket Australia contracts allowed extra rookies to be signed.

“We are delighted with the promotion of both Head and Zampa to the CA contract list,” Nielsen said. “This is a great reward for them individually, and the program as a whole.

“Additionally, this gives us the room to reward consistent performers in our List A and first-class teams, as well as continually promote and develop our best young talent in South Australia.

“Our Redbacks squad has a nice mix of established and developing players and we look forward to them all taking big steps forward in the 2017-18 season.”

Adelaide Uni's Nick Winter has won his way back onto SA's list for his performances in Premier and Futures League last year // Getty

Dalton, 21, forced his way into South Australia’s Shield team for its last two games this year after scoring heavily with Kensington at Premier Cricket level and then making consecutive Futures League centuries.

Foot surgery ended Grant’s 2016-17 season in February after he played three Shield games and Nielsen scored two centuries and two fifties, and took 19 catches, in six Futures League games last season.

Left-arm swing bowler Nick Winter, 24, who spent three years on the Redbacks’ rookie list after being recruited from the ACT but missed out on a contract last season, has also been rewarded for a string of consistent Futures League performances.

Tim Ludeman, Sam Raphael and rookies Wes Agar and Alex Gregory do not have Redbacks contracts for the 2017-18 season.



John Dalton (21, right-handed bat, right-arm medium bowler)

Harry Nielsen (22, wicketkeeper, left-handed bat)

Nick Winter (24, left-arm fast-medium bowler)


Spencer Johnson (21, left-arm fast-medium bowler)

Lloyd Pope (17, right-arm leg-spinner)

Ben Pengelley (19, left-handed bat, left-arm medium pace)

Michael Cormack (20, right-arm off-spinner)

Jake Winter (20, right-handed bat)

Daniel Drew (21, right-handed bat, right-arm off-spinner)

Full 2017-18 Redbacks squad 

Tom Andrews (Woodville)

Nick Benton (Port Adelaide)

Alex Carey (Glenelg)

Tom Cooper (Port Adelaide)

Michael Cormack (rookie, Adelaide)

John Dalton (Kensington)

Daniel Drew (rookie, West Torrens)

Callum Ferguson (West Torrens)

David Grant (Kensington)

Travis Head (Australian contracted player, Tea Tree Gully)

Spencer Johnson (rookie, West Torrens)

Jake Lehmann (East Torrens)

Joe Mennie (Adelaide Uni)

Harry Nielsen (Woodville)

Patrick Page Jnr. (Tea Tree Gully)

Lloyd Pope (rookie, Kensington)

Ben Pengelley (rookie, Adelaide)

Kane Richardson (West Torrens)

Alex Ross (Kensington)

Chadd Sayers (Glenelg)

Kelvin Smith (West Torrens)

Cameron Valente (Adelaide)

Jake Weatherald (Adelaide Uni)

Jake Winter (rookie, Glenelg)

Nick Winter (Adelaide Uni)

Daniel Worrall (Kensington)

Adam Zampa (Australian contracted player, East Torrens)