For the WNCL’s 22nd season, matches will be played over three weekend rounds across October, November and February. 

This year’s WNCL competition will be split to allow selected players to participate in the Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series and Rebel WBBL|03.

The first round will be played before the Ashes Series, followed by a round either side of Rebel WBBL|03.

The separation provides Australia’s elite women cricketers with the best preparation ahead of their key international schedules for the season and more closely mirrors the break-up of the men’s Sheffield Shield schedule.

For the first time, prizemoney will also be introduced for the WNCL of $258,000, on top of Cricket Australia’s proposed pay increase for female domestic cricketers.

Last year, the Breezair SA Scorpions missed out on the Final for the first time in three years, finishing the 50-over competition in fourth place.


Breezair SA Scorpions 2017-18 WNCL fixture (specific venues still being finalised)

Round 1 – SA to host

Friday, 6 October , SA v WA

Sunday, 8 October, SA v Tas


Round 2 – Vic to host

Saturday, 25 November, QLD v SA

Monday 27 November, Vic v SA


Round 3 – Tas to host

Friday, 16 February, SA v ACT

Sunday, 18 February, NSW v SA