Captain Scott May was awarded Player of the Final following his outstanding knock of 50 in the Grand Final, as well as Player of the Series.  

SA dominated the open-age division for cricketers with an intellectual disability after completing an undefeated run through the tournament to claim their inaugural division title.

SA Captain Scott May won Player of the Final and Player of the Series in Mackay // Supplied 

Coach Andrew Summerton said the win was a just reward for some of the team’s long-serving players.

“Some of our guys have been playing in this side for 18-19 years, so for them to finally win a title is a great feeling,” he said.

It was a successful week for South Australia at the National Indoor Cricket Championships, with the state’s Open Women, 21 & Under Women, 21 & Under Men and Lord’s Taverners' sides all qualifying for finals.

SA also had six players selected in Australian Squads set to compete at the 2017 WICF Indoor Cricket World Cup in Dubai later this year.

SACA General Manager of Game and Market Development, Shane Bernhardt, said the title win was a great reward for the Lord’s Taverners side.

“SACA has put a significant amount of effort into our inclusion programs over the past few years, including our program for cricketers with an intellectual disability, so to see that translate into success at national championships is a great reward for everyone involved,” he said.

“After seeing the boys narrowly go down to Victoria in the inaugural National Cricket Inclusion Championships earlier this year, to witness such a dominant win in the indoor Championships is a great reward for the guys.

“We’d like to congratulate all our indoor cricketers on another successful tournament and thank our volunteers and staff for their efforts this season.” 

South Australian National Representative


Open Women’s

Kylie Rattray

Neisha Iles

Stacey Oates


21 & Under Men’s

Jamie Diener

Zachary Schwarz


21 & Under Women’s

Ainslee Knight