Pace bowler Megan Schutt, leg-spinner Amanda-Jade Wellington and all-rounder Tahlia McGrath will join the squad at a three-week training camp at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane from 24 April – 12 May.

The 15-player travelling squad will be finalized after the camp.

Schutt has been a fixture of the Australian team for the past four seasons, while Wellington and McGrath both made their international debuts in November 2016, with Wellington since featuring in both an ODI and T20 series against New Zealand earlier this year.

McGrath has recently returned from Sri Lanka where she participated in a successful campaign for the Shooting Stars, against Sri Lanka’s national development squad.

Breezair SA Scorpions head coach Andrea McCauley is thrilled to see her players have the opportunity to take the big stage.

“I am incredibly proud of all three of our SA girls and it is really exciting seeing up-and-comers Tahlia and Amanda working so hard to get these opportunities in international cricket,” McCauley said.

Australia will be looking to make a strong start to their campaign which begins on 26 June against the West Indies.

Australia are defending their title after having won a record sixth World Cup in 2013 by defeating the West Indies by 114 runs in the Final in India.


23-player preliminary World Cup squad

Sarah Aley NSW

Kristen Beams VIC

Alex Blackwell NSW

Nicole Bolton WA

Piepa Cleary WA

Holly Ferling QLD

Ashleigh Gardner NSW

Grace Harris QLD

Rachael Haynes NSW

Alyssa Healy NSW

Jess Jonassen QLD

Meg Lanning VIC

Tahlia McGrath SA

Beth Mooney QLD

Erin Osborne ACT

Ellyse Perry NSW

Megan Schutt SA

Molly Strano VIC

Belinda Vakarewa NSW

Elyse Villani WA

Amanda-Jade Wellington SA


Australia's World Cup schedule

June 26: Australia v West Indies, Taunton

June 29: Australia v Sri Lanka, Bristol

July 2: Australia v New Zealand, Bristol

July 5: Australia v Pakistan, Leicester

July 9: Australia v England, Bristol

July 12: Australia v India, Bristol

July 15: Australia v South Africa, Taunton

July 18: First semi-final, Bristol

July 20: Second semi-final, Derby

July 23: Final, Lord's