The event, held in partnership with the Commonwealth Bank, celebrated the unsung heroes of Australian Cricket in terms of individuals, clubs and associations who have contributed in remarkable ways to the sport.

The three finalists from South Australia were umpire John Zadow from the Adelaide and Suburban Cricket Association, the Adelaide University Cricket Club and the Enfield United Community Cricket Club.

Hundreds of nominations were received from all over Australia, with two finalists in each of the 12 categories flown to Melbourne to attend the dinner.

SACA’s State Umpiring Leader Sarah Fry nominated Zadow for his hard work, commitment and dedication to umpiring in South Australia.

As an active umpire and the association Umpire Liaison Officer, Zadow’s umpiring performance over the past several seasons has been exceptional, with the number of trained and accredited umpires appointed to matches in the Adelaide and Suburban Cricket Association competition greatly increasing.

Adelaide University Cricket Club were nominated in the Premier Cricket Club of the Year category for the club’s drive towards best practice.

The AUCC has sought government assistance and raised funds to invest in improving training facilities and has actively encouraged greater involvement from disadvantaged community groups.

Adelaide University also field competitive men’s and women’s Grade cricket teams.

The Enfield United Community Cricket Club also received a nomination for the Community Facility Project of the Year category.

EUCCC replaced their outdated and dangerous training nets with a modern multi-lane structure that was built in a more appropriate location and features pull-out netting and external fixed nets.

The facility is open to the public and provides a range of training options for both club members and the wider community.

The South Australian Cricket Association would like to congratulate all three SA finalists on their nominations and commend them for their efforts in making cricket Australia’s favourite sport and a sport for all Australians.