The future of South Australian cricket looks to be in good hands with a record number of representatives selected to participate in the male National Under 17 Championships in Queensland next month.

In total 17 South Australians will take part in the Championships, with three players selected in the CA XI and one for the Northern Territory in addition to SA’s squad of 13.

The tournament will also be the first time twins have been selected in a SACA Youth Team, with Corey and Thomas Kelly from Sturt Cricket Club to play alongside each other for SA.

Glenelg and former Australian Under 16 player Josh Hoffman will captain South Australia at the championships, while six of the seventeen participants are members of the Cricket Australia Rookie Pathway.

West End Redbacks head coach Jamie Siddons said the additional selections were a reflection of the high level of talent coming through South Australia’s Junior Pathway.

“Having 17 players chosen for the Under 17 National Championships further highlights the significant work being undertaken within the SACA HP Junior Pathway,” he said.

“I wish all selected players the very best of luck for these Championships. We look forward to seeing many of these youngsters progress through the SACA Junior Pathway system and graduate into the senior Redbacks program and beyond.”

South Australia

   Player Name Club 
1.  Riki BOSCHMA  Glenelg 
2.  William BOWERING  Glenelg 
3.  Jasper DARLEY  Prospect 
4.   Hamish GITSHAM  Kensington 
5.  Oscar HARMS  Adelaide University 
6.  Joshua HOFFMAN (c)  Glenelg 
7.  Corey KELLY  Sturt 
8.  Thomas KELLY  Sturt 
9.  Ryan KING  East Torrens 
10.  William MONTGOMERY  Kensington 
11.  Aryan SAREEN  Adelaide 
12.  Joel SIZE  East Torrens 
13.  Tom VAN DER JEUGD (vc)  Kensington 

Also selected in the CA X1 to participate in the same Championships are:

CA XI (South Australian representatives)

  Player Name  Club 
1.  Kyle BRAZELL  Tea Tree Gully 
2.  Suraj RAJESH  Southern District 
3.  Samuel RAHALEY  Kensington 

Northern Territory (South Australian representatives)

Player Name Club
1. Zac WORDEN Tea Tree Gully