Stepney United (women’s) and the Morphett Vale Sharks (men’s) were the SA teams that won the state finals last month, earning the opportunity to play against other State premiers to compete for the title of NICL champions and a $10,000 cash prize.

Teams each played five matches, with Stepney United finishing in fourth place with two wins and three losses.

All of United’s matches were closely contested with top run-scorers Rebecca Pollard (77), Steph Beazleigh (70) and Jess O’Reilly (68) making valuable contributions to the team’s campaign.

United’s highest wicket-takers were Rachael Greenshields (9), Caitlin Edmunds (6) and Sarah Ferris (6), while Hannah Perry collected United’s best contribution score (runs scored minus runs conceded from bowling) for the finals, with 16.

Being a very young side up against some highly experienced teams, the Sharks finished fifth in their pool, winning just one match and losing four.

The Sharks boasted some solid performances from Konan Breed (51 runs and five wickets) and Tyson Miller (41 runs and four wickets), while Breed also claimed the side’s highest contribution score with zero.

Visit the National Indoor Cricket League website for all scorecards and results.