The quadrennial eight-team event will take place in the UK from June 1-18 as Australia looks to claim its third Champions Trophy title.

QUICK SINGLE: Promising SA trio selected in National Performance Squad

Both Head and Zampa featured in Australia’s most recent two-match ODI series against New Zealand during the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy, as well as their five-match series against Pakistan at home.

That series was a particularly successful campaign for Head, who scored a breakthrough century in front of his home crowd on Australia Day to see his career ODI average rise to a healthy 37.2 and help further cement his spot in Australia’s ODI side. 

The 23 year-old’s versatility was also on show throughout the series after being trialled in three different positions (opener, four and five) across the five matches, as well as bowling in every match of the series.

Head will face competition from the returning Aaron Finch to hold his position as David Warner’s opening batting partner after the former T20 captain was also named in the squad. 

Despite having been omitted on a number of occasions from Australia’s ODI side in recent months, Zampa has continued to consolidate his position as Australia’s premier limited-overs spinner, as proven by his selection as the only full-time spinner in the squad. 

The 25-year old tweaker finished 2016 as the most potent ODI bowler in world cricket, with 30 scalps from his 19 matches at an average of 27.8.  

Speaking on the make-up of the squad National Selector Trevor Hohns said: “We have selected a very exciting well balanced squad that will give us plenty of options with both batting and bowling, depending on the conditions.

“We are in a very fortunate position at the moment with a large number of quality players available for selection, as such this was a very difficult team to choose and there have been some unlucky players on this occasion.”

With Head and Zampa currently playing in the Indian Premier League, the pair will leave for England as soon as their teams (the Royal Bangalore Challengers and Rising Pune Supergiants) are eliminated from the tournament.

Australia's 15-player ICC Champions Trophy squad

  1. Steve Smith (c)
  2. David Warner (vc)
  3. Pat Cummins
  4. Aaron Finch
  5. John Hastings
  6. Josh Hazlewood
  7. Travis Head
  8. Moises Henriques
  9. Chris Lynn
  10. Glenn Maxwell
  11. James Pattinson
  12. Mitchell Starc
  13. Marcus Stoinis
  14. Matthew Wade
  15. Adam Zampa