The 14-player squad features some of the best talent from the tournament, as selected by the Youth Selection Panel, plus four standby players.

Kyle Brazell, Samuel Rahaley and Suraj Rajesh were the three South Australian players who performed well at the National Championships and stood out to selectors.

Opening batters Brazell and Rajesh were among the top ten run-scorers at the tournament, while Rahaley compiled 70 runs across four innings.

All-rounder Brazell also took best figures of 5/33 against New South Wales Green.

The Australia Under 16s squad will form the Cricket Australia XI for next summer’s Under 17 National Championships, where players will be challenged by playing against an older age group at a higher level of competition.

“It was really pleasing to see the amount of talent on display at the championship this year, and there was some really good cricket played throughout the week,” said Cricket Australia’s National Talent Manager, Greg Chappell.

“The selection of this team was a challenging one, as there was such a good spread of talent across all teams and plenty of competition for places. That said, we are really pleased with final result of the selection process, and the quality of talent within this Australia Under 16s squad.

An international series for this Australia Under 16s squad is yet to be confirmed, but likely to be in early 2018.

Australia U16s Squad

Kyle Brazell, South Australia

Jake Fraser McGurk, Victoria

Michael Herbst, Western Australia

Mac Jenkins, New South Wales

Brock Larance, New South Wales

Jet Liebke, Queensland

Ewan Nielson, Western Australia

Mitchell Pascoe, Queensland

Yash Pednekar, Victoria

Samuel Rahaley, South Australia 

Suraj Rajesh, South Australia

Tanveer Sangha, New South Wales

Hugh Sherriff, New South Wales

Brad Simpson, New South Wales


Standby players: William Collins (Tasmania), Jayden Goodwin (Western Australia), Campbell Griffiths (Victoria), William Prestwidge (Queensland)